Call Vidheesi contact Number: 0091 9526448281


Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

The first edition of "Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering", with a million books and is the equivalent of the Nobel Prize for Engineering, announced its winners.

Five engineers who created the Internet and the World Wide Web have together won the inaugural £1 million Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering for their innovations, which have revolutionised the way we communicate and enabled the development of whole new industries. Today a third of the world’s population use the Internet and it is estimated to carry around 330 Petabytes of data per year, enough to transfer every character ever written in every book ever published 20 times over.

Engineers Robert Kahn, Vinton Cerf, Louis Pouzin, Tim Berners-Lee and Marc Andreessen were announced as the winners by Lord Browne of Madingley, in the presence of HRH The Princess Royal, at the Royal Academy of Engineering on 18 March 2013. The winners will come to London in June for the formal presentation of the prize by Her Majesty, The Queen.

The art of engineering lies in the efficient combination of technologies to deliver the most meaningful results for society. The international team of judges for the Prize considered that these five outstanding engineers epitomise this approach in the way that they designed and built the Internet and the Web.

                                                          ROBERT KAHN [ Vint Cerf ]

The name of Vint Cerf has always been linked to that of Robert Kahn , his fellow sufferer during the development of what we now know as the Internet. However, it will be by the charisma of Cerf, or the discretion of Kahn, but the latter has always been relegated to the background, thus being much less recognized his work in the birth of the network of networks.
It would be a mistake to underestimate his decisive contribution, so it is not we who will leave aside in this series of articles is Parents Internet . Born in 1938 in the United States, obtained his Ph.D. in 1964 at Princeton, and after passing by Bell Labs and MIT, begin to collaborate with the project ARPANET , Internet germinal version, in company Bolt Beranek and Newman.
From there, his life would be forever linked as networks. Their "marriage" with ARPANET was formalized in 1972, when at the request of Lawrece Roberts would join DARPA agency to devote himself body and soul into this project, occupying the post of Director of the Office of Technical Information Processing (IPTO ). By October of that year, Kahn would make a demonstration of the operation of the network by connecting up to 40 computers, which help to familiarize the general public ARPANET.

After that, the interest of institutions to join this network began to grow exponentially, and Kahn was faced with the complication of developing a logical structure that could sustain a global user demand.
This need was prompting Kahn to start working with Cerf, and fruit of their union would be born the TCP / IP, of which we have spoken before. Following this new understanding of the interconnection of equipment, more open and thus more scalable and free of ties for growth worldwide networks began to connect to ARPANET. This union was renamed network Interconnected Networks, from which derives the term Internet.
But during his years at DARPA, still have time to coordinate other important projects such as the development of the first packet networks via satellite, as well as work with terrestrial radio waves. For when he left his post at the IPTO, the TCP / IP and would be the single standard ARPANET, and the Internet would be closer to being what we now know, largely thanks to him.

                                                                  VINT CERF

Dr. Vinton G. (Vint) Cerf is a computer scientist and widely recognized as one of the "Fathers of the Internet."" He was one of the inventors of the internet architecture and co-designer of the basic protocols (TCP/IP) along with Robert Kahn. He serves as vice president and chief internet evangelist for Google and his primary responsibility is to identify new enabling technologies to support the development of advanced internet-based products and services for the company.[1] [2] [3] He is also currently involved in the Interplanetary Internet Project.[4]

                                                                LOUIS POUZIN

           Louis Pouzin, X 1950 , inventor and designer of the first datagram packet-switched network (alongside the names of the most famous Anglo-Saxon world Internet pioneers Vinton Cerf and Robert Kahn inventors of TCP / IP protocol universally used for data transmission and now the Internet telephony, inventor Tim Berners-Lee at CERN System of the World Wide Web and Marc Andreessen, inventor of the first web browser, Mosaic)

                                                            SIR TIM BERNERS LEE

Tim Berners-Lee was the man leading the development of the World Wide Web (with help of course), the defining of HTML (hypertext markup language) used to create web pages, HTTP (HyperText Transfer Protocol) and URLs (Universal Resource Locators). All of those developments took place between 1989 and 1991.
Tim Berners-Lee was born in London, England and graduated in Physics from Oxford University in 1976. He is currently the Director of the World Wide Web Consortium, the group that sets technical standards for the Web.

Besides Tim Berners-Lee, Vinton Cerf is also named as an internet daddy. Ten years out of high school, Vinton Cerf begun co-designing and co-developing the protocols and structure of what became the Internet.

                                                               MARC ANDREESEN

    Marc Andreessen (BS CS ’94) was named one of the inaugural recipients of the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering. According to the prize website, the prize is intended to recognize and celebrate “outstanding advances in engineering that have changed the world.”

CS @ ILLINOIS alumnus Marc Andreessen was named one of the inaugural recipients of the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering.
Andreessen was co-author of Mosaic, the first widely used web browser, which was developed by a team he led at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA) at the University of Illinois. He joins four other Internet pioneers—Sir Tim Berners-Lee, Vinton Cerf, Robert Kahn, and Louis Pouzin—in sharing the one million pound prize. The award was announced March 18 at the Royal Academy of Engineering. The prize will be presented to the recipients by Queen Elizabeth II at a ceremony to be held June 25.


നിങ്ങളുടെ അഭിപ്രായങ്ങള്‍ വളരെ പ്രധാനപെട്ടതാണ്. അതാണ്‌ എന്‍റെ പ്രചോദനവും.

ആവശ്യമെങ്കില്‍ മെയില്‍ അയയ്ക്കുക -